+380 (44) 239-23-90 46/11 Turgenevskaya St., section 1, office 2

DeveLAWpment

File1

On 4 December 2014, the Council of the European Union adopted the decision on the approval of the Hague Convention of 30 June 2005 on Choice of Court Agreements (“the Convention”). So, finally the internal process of the approval of the Convention has been terminated.

The Decision on approval of the Convention shall enter into force on the date of its adoption. Meanwhile the deposit of the instrument of approval shall take place within one month of 5 June 2015.

The Convention will enter into force on the first day of the month following a period of three months after the deposit of the instrument of approval by the EU. Therefore, all EU Member States, except Denmark, and Mexico, which acceded to the Convention on 26 September 2007, will then be bound by the Convention. That means that the Convention’s entry into force will coincide with its 10th anniversary.

The Convention, as is stated in the Preamble of the Council Decision, makes a valuable contribution to promoting party autonomy in international commercial transactions and to increasing the predictability of judicial solutions in such transactions. In particular, it ensures the necessary legal certainty for the parties that their choice of court agreement will be respected and that a judgment given by the chosen court will be capable of recognition and enforcement in international cases.

+380 (44) 239-23-90 ул. Тургеневская, 46/11, секция 1, оф. 2

DeveLAWpment

File1

4 декабря 2014 года Совет Европейского Союза принял решение об утверждении Гаагской конвенции в отношении соглашений о выборе суда от 30 июня 2005 года (далее — Конвенция). Итак, наконец-то завершился внутренний процесс утверждения Конвенции Европейским Союзом.

Решение об утверждении Конвенции вступило в силу в день своего принятия. В то же время депонирование документа об утверждении произойдет на протяжении месяца, начиная с 5 июня 2015 года.

Конвенция вступит в силу в первый день месяца, следующего за трехмесячным периодом после депонирования документа об утверждении. Поэтому для всех стран-членов ЕС, кроме Дании, а также для Мексики, которая присоединилась к Конвенции 26 сентября 2007 года, Конвенция будет иметь обязательную силу. Это означает, что вступление Конвенции в силу совпадет с ее десятилетием.

Как указано в преамбуле решения Совета, Конвенция делает важный вклад в более полную реализацию автономии воли сторон в международных коммерческих отношениях и в увеличение предсказуемости судебных решений в таких отношениях. В частности, она гарантирует необходимую правовую определенность: стороны хотят быть уверены в том, что осуществленный ими выбор суда будет «признан», и что решение суда, который они выбрали, можно будет признать и исполнить.