+380 (44) 239-23-90 46/11 Turgenevskaya St., section 1, office 2

DeveLAWpment

2

Dr. of Laws Anna Tsirat was appointed by the Tribunal (the same arbitrators for two cases) at the Permanent Court of Arbitration to be an expert in two international investment law cases: Aeroport Belbek LLC and Mr. Igor Valerievich Kolomoisky v. The Russian Federation and PJSC CB PrivatBank and Finance Company Finilon LLC v. The Russian Federation.

In both cases she was asked to give her opinion as to some questions of Ukrainian investment law.

Arbitral proceedings under the both cases were commenced against the Russian Federation pursuant to the Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine on the Encouragement and Mutual Protection of Investments, dated 27 November 1998 (“Ukraine-Russia BIT”), under the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules 1976.

In the first case the Claimants claim that the Russian Federation breached its obligations under the Ukraine-Russia BIT by taking measures, as of February 2014 that deprived the Claimants of their property, contractual and other rights to operate a passenger terminal for commercial flights at the Belbek International Airport in Crimea, while in the second one the Claimants assert that the Russian Federation breached its obligations under the Ukraine-Russia BIT by taking, as of February 2014, measures that prevented them from operating their banking business in Crimea.

The Russian Federation did not appoint any representatives in any case, indicating, inter alia, that the “[Ukraine-Russia BIT] cannot serve as a basis for composing an arbitral tribunal to settle [the Claimants’ claims]” and that it “does not recognize the jurisdiction of an international arbitral tribunal at the [PCA] in settlement of the [Claimants’ claims].”

On 13 July, 2016 Anna Tsirat presented her expert’s opinion at the Tribunal in both cases.

If there are any procedural steps taken by the Tribunal the respective press releases will be issued and published on the website of the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

+380 (44) 239-23-90 ул. Тургеневская, 46/11, секция 1, оф. 2

DeveLAWpment

2

К. ю. н. Анна Цират была назначена трибуналом (один и тот же состав арбитражного трибунала для обоих дел) при Постоянной палате третейского правосудия в качестве эксперта в двух делах по международному инвестиционному праву: ООО «Аэропорт Бельбек» и господин Игорь Валериевич Коломойский против Российской Федерации и ЧАО КБ «Приватбанк» и ООО «Финансовая компания «Финилон» против Российской Федерации.

В обоих делах госпожа Цират должна была представить свое мнение по нескольким вопросам инвестиционного права Украины.

Арбитражные разбирательства по обоим делам были начаты против Российской Федерации согласно Соглашению между Правительством Российской Федерации и Кабинетом Министров Украины о поощрении и взаимной защите инвестиций от 27 октября 1998 г. (Соглашение о защите инвестиций), согласно Арбитражному регламенту ЮНСИТРАЛ 1976 г.

В первом деле Истцы заявили о том, что Российская Федерация нарушила свои обязательства, вытекающие из Соглашения о защите инвестиций, путем принятия с начала февраля 2014 года мер, которые лишили Истцов прав собственности, договорных и других прав по эксплуатации пассажирского терминала для коммерческих перелетов Международного Аэропорта Бельбек в Крыму. В другом деле Истцы заявили о том, что Российская Федерация нарушила свои обязательства, вытекающие из Соглашения о защите инвестиций, путем принятия с начала февраля 2014 года мер, которые не позволили истцам продолжить свой банковский бизнес в Крыму.

Российская Федерация не назначила представителей ни в одном из двух дел и заявила, среди прочего, что «[Соглашение о защите инвестиций] не может служить основанием для формирования арбитража для урегулирования [спора с Истцами]», и что она «не признает юрисдикцию международного арбитража при Постоянной палате третейского правосудия по рассмотрению [спора с Истцами]».

13 июля 2016 г. Анна Цират представила свое экспертное мнение в обоих делах перед трибуналом.

Если трибуналом будут сделаны последующие процессуальные шаги, соответствующие пресс-релизы будут изданы и опубликованы на веб-сайте Постоянной палаты третейского правосудия.