+380 (44) 239-23-90 46/11 Turgenevskaya St., section 1, office 2

DeveLAWpment

File 5

Recently the European Union (the Union) has adopted a new Regulation, where it laid down a set of rules to manage financial responsibility in disputes between investor on the one hand and the Union or a Member State on the other. The main objective of the new EU Regulation – the full name of the document is the Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council (EU) No 912/2014 establishing a framework for managing financial responsibility linked to investor-to-state dispute settlement tribunals established by international agreements to which the European Union is party – is to distinguish financial responsibility of a Member State and of the Union.

This Regulation relates to disputes to be decided by arbitration tribunals.

This Regulation applies to investor-to-state dispute settlement conducted pursuant to an international agreement to which the Union is party, or the Union and its Member States are parties, and initiated by a claimant of a third country.

The essential rules provided by the Regulation state that where the Union, as an entity having legal personality, has international responsibility for the treatment afforded, it will be expected, as a matter of international law, to pay any adverse award and bear the costs of any dispute and, in turn, the Member State concerned should bear the financial responsibility where the treatment concerned is afforded by that Member State.

The Union should always act as the respondent where a dispute exclusively concerns treatment afforded by the institutions, bodies, offices or agencies of the Union. Accordingly, where a Member State would bear the potential financial responsibility arising from a dispute it is appropriate that such Member State acts as a respondent. Only in exceptional circumstances the Union itself acts as the respondent in disputes involving treatment afforded by a Member State.

The Regulation shall apply only in respect of disputes where the submission of a claim to arbitration has been lodged after 17 September 2014, and that concern treatment afforded after 17 September 2014.

+380 (44) 239-23-90 ул. Тургеневская, 46/11, секция 1, оф. 2

DeveLAWpment

File 5

Недавно Европейский Союз (Союз) принял новый Регламент, в котором он изложил ряд правил касательно финансовой ответственности в спорах между инвестором, с одной стороны, и Союзом или государством-членом, с другой. Главной целью нового Регламента – полное название документа звучит как Регламент Европейского Парламента и Совета (ЕС) № 912/2014, учреждающий нормы, регулирующие финансовую ответственность, связанную с разрешением споров между инвестором и государством арбитражем, предусмотренным международными соглашениями, стороной которых является Европейский Союз – разграничение случаев финансовой ответственности Союза и государства-члена.

Этот Регламент касается споров, которые подлежат рассмотрению арбитражем.

Регламент применяется к инвестиционному спору, который рассматривается в соответствии с международным соглашением, стороной которого является Союз или Союз и государство-член, инициатором которого является истец третьего государства.

Ключевые правила, предусмотренные Регламентом, предусматривают, что в случае если Союз в качестве лица, обладающего правосубъектностью, обязан в соответствии со своими международными обязательствами предоставить некий режим, предполагается, что он должен будет, как это предусмотрено международным правом, выплатить компенсацию, определенную арбитражным решением, и компенсировать издержки, связанные с рассмотрением дела. В свою очередь, соответствующее государство-член должно выплатить компенсацию в случае, если соответствующий режим предоставляется этим государством-членом.

Союз всегда будет выступать в качестве ответчика, если спор касается исключительно режима, предоставленного институциями, органами или агентствами Союза. Соответственно там, где государство-член будет нести потенциальную финансовую ответственность в связи с рассмотрением спора, такое государство должно выступать ответчиком. Только в исключительных случаях Союз выступает в качестве ответчика в спорах, касающихся режима, предоставленного государством-членом ЕС.

Регламент будет применяться только по отношению к спорам, по которым подача иска в арбитраж будет осуществлена после 17 сентября 2014 года, и по отношению к режиму, предоставленному после 17 сентября 2014 года.