+380 (44) 239-23-90 46/11 Turgenevskaya St., section 1, office 2

DeveLAWpment

2

According to statistics 95% of the judgements of the European Court of Human Rights and 70% of the judgements of national courts are not enforced in Ukraine that means the State Enforcement Service of Ukraine does not cope with its tasks. Impossibility to enforce a court judgement undermines foundations of justice and emasculates the very idea to go to court to protect one’s own rights and freedoms. If the State Enforcement Service is not dramatically reformed, it will make no sense to reform the judicial system in general.

In the light of this problem the President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko brought in two bills “On authorities and persons that are responsible for compulsory enforcement of court judgements and decisions of other authorities” (№ 2506а) and “On enforcement proceedings” (№ 2507а) that are to be considered soon by Verkhovna Rada, the Parliament of Ukraine, in the second reading. These bills are supposed to change enforcement service dramatically, introducing “mixed” system of enforcement of judgements, where private executors will work alongside the State Enforcement Service. States such as Bulgaria and Baltic states that politically, economically and in social and cultural aspects are close to Ukraine served as a model for the enforcement service’s modernization. The reform’s main idea is to “open” state registries, to administer them “clearly” and to invite to enforcement service active persons who, as Deputy Minister of Justice S. Shkliar mentioned, “want to make money and are ready to work their guts out”. The roundtable organized March 16, 2016 by the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine and the Association of men of law of Ukraine was dedicated exactly to the discussion of the abovementioned bills.

The event was organized in the form of discussion between representatives of authorities, experts, lawyers and bankers who considered various questions, those that were solved in two bills and those that remained outstanding. Participants discussed prospects of improvements of system of state registries whose number is great nowadays and whose holders are different state bodies that causes situation when an executor cannot take steps effectively to arrest the property and funds kept on accounts in different banks; it was debated whether moratorium on mandatory sale of state enterprises’ and corporations’ property where state owns as least 25% of statutory fund and moratorium on levying of the property of Ukrainian citizens provided as security for credits in foreign currency should be abrogated; some participants expressed suggestions concerning introduction of bankruptcy for natural persons; there were envisaged problems of appeal of actions/inactivity of executors, introduction of effective system of access to information concerning bank accounts of debtors and problems of court control over enforcement of court judgments.

Kateryna Tsirat, one of the lawyers of Jurvneshservice participated in the roundtable and joined general discussion. In case the two bills are adopted, we hope some of the today’s problems coming with the process of enforcement of judgements will be resolved and the system of enforcement of judgements will become strong and effective.

+380 (44) 239-23-90 ул. Тургеневская, 46/11, секция 1, оф. 2

DeveLAWpment

2

По статистике 95% решений Европейского суда по правам человека и порядка 70% решений национальных судов в Украине не исполняется, что говорит о неэффективности работы Государственной исполнительной службы Украины. Невозможность исполнить судебное решение подрывает основы правосудия и подрывает саму идею обращения в суд за защитой прав и свобод. Если Государственная исполнительная служба не будет в скором времени реформирована, осуществлять какие-либо действия по модернизации судебной системы в целом не будет иметь никакого смысла.

В свете этого Президент Украины П. Порошенко внес проекты Законов «Об органах и лицах, осуществляющих принудительное исполнение судебных решений и решений иных органов» (№ 2506а) и «Об исполнительном производстве» (№ 2507а), которые в ближайшее время будут рассмотрены Верховным советом во втором чтении. Эти законопроекты коренным образом реформируют исполнительную службу, учреждая смешанную систему исполнения судебных решений, где бок о бок с Государственной исполнительной службой будут работать частные исполнители. Концептуально образцом реформы послужили государства, в политическом, экономическом и социально-культурном плане близкие к Украине – Болгария и государства Прибалтики. Главная идея реформы – «открытие» государственных реестров, «прозрачность» их ведения, а также привлечение к работе по принудительному исполнению судебных решений инициативных людей, которые, по словам заместителя Министра юстиции Украины С. Шкляра, «хотят заработать и не бояться поработать лишних 3-4 часа». Обсуждению указанных законопроектов и был посвящен круглый стол, организованный 16 марта 2016 года Министерством юстиции Украины и Ассоциацией правовиков Украины.

Мероприятие было организовано в форме дискуссии между представителями органов государственной власти, экспертами, юристами и банкирами, которые обсуждали вопросы разного характера, как те, что были решены в упомянутых законопроектах, так и те, что остались открытыми. Так, рассматривались перспективы усовершенствования системы государственных реестров, которых на сегодняшний день существует великое множество, и держателями которых являются разные государственные органы, что создает ситуацию, когда государственный исполнитель не может эффективно совершать действия по аресту имущества или денежных средств, находящихся на счетах в разных банках; обсуждался вопрос необходимости отмены моратория на применение принудительной реализации имущества государственных предприятий и хозяйственных обществ, в уставных фондах которых доля государства составляет не менее 25% и моратория на взыскание имущества граждан Украины, предоставленного как обеспечение кредитов в иностранной валюте; предлагалось ввести институт банкротства физических лиц; обсуждались проблемы обжалования в суде действий/бездеятельности исполнителей, введения эффективной системы доступа к информации о банковских счетах должников и проблемы судебного контроля за исполнением решений суда.

Юрист «Юрвнешсервис» Екатерина Цират также побывала на круглом столе, присоединившись к общей дискуссии. В случае принятия упомянутых законопроектов, можно надеяться на то, что хотя бы часть проблем, которыми сопровождается сегодня процесс исполнения судебных решений, будет решена, а исполнительная служба сможет стать сильной и эффективной.