+380 (44) 239-23-90 46/11 Turgenevskaya St., section 1, office 2

DeveLAWpment

1

21 March 2016 Ukraine signed the Hague Convention of 30 June 2005 on Choice of Court Agreements (2005 Choice of Court Convention) and the Protocol of 23 November 2007 on the Law Applicable to Maintenance Obligations.

Ukraine became a fifth signatory state of 2005 Choice of Court Convention.

2005 Choice of Court Convention entered into force on 1 October 2015 and is binding upon 29 parties, namely all EU member states, except Denmark, EU and Mexico.

“Accedence of Ukraine to 2005 Choice of Court Convention will extend the possibilities of enforcement of judgments of Ukrainian courts in civil and commercial matters in other jurisdictions, in particular in member states of the European Union. Moreover, this is important step in the framework of the negotiation process between Ukraine and European Union to enforce para. 2 of Article 24 of the Ukraine – European Union Association Agreement concerning accession of Ukraine to Convention on jurisdiction and recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters, signed in Lugano on 30 October 2007”, – said Pavlo Petrenko.
The next step for Ukraine shall be ratification of 2005 Choice of Court Convention. Then Ukraine could rise to the next level in openness and recognition of party autonomy in commercial activities, when parties will have the possibility to choose state court, not arbitration, and Ukraine and other parties to 2005 Choice of Court Convention shall respect such choice.

Jurvneshservice partner doctor of laws Gennadii Tsirat analyzed 2005 Choice of Court Convention provisions in some publications, monography and in his doctoral thesis. Here you can see the publications dedicated to jurisdiction and recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

+380 (44) 239-23-90 ул. Тургеневская, 46/11, секция 1, оф. 2

DeveLAWpment

1

21 марта Министр юстиции Украины Павел Петренко подписал от имени Украины Гаагскую конвенцию в отношении соглашений о выборе суда 2005 года (Конвенция 2005 года), а также Протокол о праве, применимом к алиментным обязательствам 2007 года.

Украина стала пятым государством, подписавшим Конвенцию 2005 года.

Напомним, что Конвенция 2005 года вступила в силу 1 октября 2015 года и является обязательной для 29 участников: всех государств-членов ЕС, кроме Дании, ЕС и Мексики.

«Присоединение Украины к Конвенции 2005 расширит возможности исполнения решений украинских судов в гражданских и хозяйственных делах в иных юрисдикциях, в частности в государствах-членах Европейского Союза. Также это является важным шагом в рамках переговорного процесса между Украиной и ЕС во исполнение пункта 2 статья 24 Соглашения об ассоциации касательно присоединения Украины к Конвенции о юрисдикции и признании и исполнении судебных решений в гражданских и уголовных делах, подписанной в г. Лугано 30 октября 2007 года», – указал Павел Петренко.
Следующим шагом для Украины должна стать ратификация Конвенции 2005 года. Именно тогда можно будет говорить о выходе Украины на новый уровень в вопросе открытости и признания свободы воли сторон в коммерческой деятельности, когда последним будет предоставлена возможность выбрать суд, но уже не арбитражный, а государственный, и Украина и другие участники Конвенции 2005 года должны будут такой выбор уважать.

Партнер «Юрвнешсервис» доктор права Геннадий Цират обращался к анализу положений Гаагской конвенции 2005 года в ряде публикаций, в монографии, а также в своей докторской диссертации. Здесь можно ознакомиться с публикациями, посвященными вопросам подсудности и признания и исполнения иностранных судебных решений.